The DUI criminal defense attorneys at Dohman Law Group represent people charged with driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs in Cook County, Lake County, DuPage County, Will County Kane County, Kendall County and throughout Illinois. Our legal practice primarily focuses on the area of DUI defense. We strongly encourage any person charged with a drunk driving offense to contact a qualified attorney to discuss the circumstances of their case immediately after DUI arrest. Contact our DUI criminal defense law firm today at 847-359-4005 to schedule a no-cost initial consultation.
It’s crucial to understand you aren’t alone after an impaired driving arrest. Every year in Illinois over 35,000 people are arrested for driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs. Although the criminal penalties of a DUI can differ based on how your drunk driving case plays out and if your DUI criminal defense attorney gets your drunk driving charges dropped or reduced, here are the potential sentence for DUIs offenders may face:
A DUI offender who commits a DUI offense while transporting a minor child is subject to an additional two days in prison, an additional mandatory minimum fine of $1,000, and an additional mandatory minimum of 140 hours of community service, which must include 40 hours of service that's beneficial to children.
A DUI criminal offense doesn’t have to damage your life. If you hire an experienced DUI criminal defense lawyer, fight your DUI charges, and negotiate a good plea bargain, you may move forward with your life with minimal changes. If your DUI criminal defense attorney can win your DUI case or get your drunk driving charges dropped, you won’t even have a DUI on your public driving record.
However, if you choose to go to a court trial without a proper criminal defense representation, odds are high you’ll get a conviction, which can ruin your life. To understand how a first-time DUI offense will affect your life, and how you can stop that from happening, here are some legal consequences involved.
The most immediate consequence of a drunk driving charge is the suspension of your driver's license. You'll face a driver’s license suspension even if you aren’t convicted--unless you take swift legal action. After a first-time DUI conviction, you’ll face a 12-month license suspension. And if you are an underage driver, your driving privileges will be suspended for 2 years. Not being able to drive to visit family, see friends, to work, to a doctor’s visit, or to run errands is a good way to ruin your life.
The criminal penalties for impaired driving vary based on how many traffic violations you’ve had, the details around your DUI, and the judge’s mood. But all drunk driving charges carry jail time. As a first-time offender, you might be subject to a minimum jail time of 364 days in jail and if your blood alcohol concentration was 0.16% or higher, you may face a maximum sentence of 364 days in jail. If you had a minor in your motor vehicle, you may be subject to six months in jail.
Even after serving your prison sentence, a criminal record doesn’t go away. Every time you send job applications, you must disclose your criminal record. Most potential employers verify this information through a background check. Often, a DUI is a liability, and it’s looked down upon. Thus, it impacts how “hirable” you’re. Fortunately, hiring an experienced DUI lawyer to defend you can get you acquitted or get your DUI criminal charges dropped, which is a perfect way to protect your reputation, and eventually your career.
The biggest effect of a DUI charge is the price tag. DUI offenses are notoriously costly. You have to pay a monetary fine of $1,000 for a first-time offense. Also, there are unofficial heavy fines that are billed as court fees and other expenses. For a first DUI offense, these court fees range between $1,000 to $2,600, and they could be much higher. Further, you may be requested to attend a mandatory DUI school. Here, you’ll pay for a drunk driving school course or alcohol evaluation and treatment program out of pocket.
The alcohol treatment program lasts for three to 30 months and costs $500 to several thousand dollars. Your vehicle may also be impounded after your drunk driving arrest, and you must pay for each day it stays in the impound lot. Further, license reinstatement comes with its own expenses. Further, having a DUI on your public driving record will raise your car insurance premiums because your insurance carrier will see you as a risk.
Even the cheapest DUI expenses run to several thousands of dollars. To prevent DUI charges from ruining your life any further, hire a DUI criminal defense lawyer. At Dohman Law Group, we have helped hundreds of DUI offenders get their intoxicated driving charges reduced or even dismissed, and we can help you get a successful outcome. Contact our Chicago criminal defense law firm today at 847-359-4005 to schedule a no-cost initial consultation.