For drivers convicted of an alcohol or drug-related driving offense in Illinois, potential penalties aren't limited to possible jail time, hefty fines, and a driver's license suspension. You will also face months-long reminders of how severe drunk driving crimes are treated in Chicago by mandatory attendance at DUI classes. These classes are ordered by the criminal courts and/or the Illinois DMV and last anywhere between six weeks and 30 months, based on the nature and location of your DUI conviction.
The purpose of drug and alcohol courses after a DUI is to educate offenders about the dangers of intoxicated driving and to provide counseling to tackle their issues. Here’s everything you need to know about DUI classes if you or a family member has been convicted of DUI in Illinois.
DUI classes are commonly conducted in-person and comprise a combination of counseling programs and education for drunk driving offenders. The educational component helps DUI offenders understand the drunk driving laws in Chicago and how they affect them. It also educates offenders on drug abuse and the dangers of driving while drinking and may include videos, lecturers, and group discussions.
The counseling component of the course is conducted in groups, in addition to one-on-one sessions which are required. DUI offenders and other attendees must remain sober during classes and actively take part in any one-on-one sessions. Not doing so may result in expulsion from the counseling program.
There are many levels of drunk driver education, based on the severity of your criminal offense. A 20-year-old first-time DUI offender with a blood alcohol content of 0.08 is likely to have a shorter educational requirement than a DUI offender with multiple drunk driving charges and/or a serious motor vehicle accident. Drunk driving course levels include:
Often, DUI courses include both an assessment and intervention. In the assessment, you'll be screened to evaluate your drugs and alcohol use and its effect on your driving. In intervention, you'll receive group education and counseling about drug and alcohol use and how it affects driving. This usually includes:
There is no one set of requirements for a drunk driver to get their driver's license back. The process for reinstating your driving privileges depends on the reason your license was suspended/revoked, and other factors, such as your driving history. Typically, you must do the following:
Reinstating a revoked license is more challenging, and there are more steps to follow. For instance, to get your license back after a DUI conviction, you must:
Your driver's license reinstatement only becomes valid once it is entered on your driver’s record in the Secretary of State’s office. Losing your driving privileges is a difficult experience, but the additional penalties are designed to keep you from breaking the traffic rules again.
Not completing DUI school can have serious consequences, including:
If you or a family member have been charged with Impaired driving in Chicago, you need experienced legal counsel to protect your legal rights and freedoms and limit the legal consequences. Call Dohman Law Group today at847-359-4005 to set up a no-cost initial consultation with an experienced Rolling Meadows DUI defense attorney who can advise you on the next steps in protecting your constitutional rights.